How do I merge a raw string to a document without duplicating?

Hello! I am a backend developer trying to venture into y.js.

I have built an architecture where a user may edit a description field from a text editor (which will support live editing through y.js), but also directly from the API using a raw string.

What then happens is that user A updates the description through the API directly on the database, and user B then connects to y.js, which has its own cache/storage storing a completely different data.

I may be approaching this architecture wrong, but I was wondering if there is a way of getting this data from the API, convert it into a y.js document and attempt to merge with the document from y.js.

I don’t see any alternative since we technically have 2 sources of truth.

The binary YJS data has to be the source of truth in order to get conflict-free replication. It’s not possible to convert static data into a YJS Doc, since static data does not have the history of edits that are needed to resolve conflicts from offline changes.

Your API could load the YJS Doc, modify it, propagate the update to all clients, and persist the new state to the database.

1 Like

Hey, jumping in here with a similar scenario, hope that’s cool.

I have a productivity app that is powered by Dexie Cloud. In this app I have multiple projects, tasks, lists and more. Data I stored with Dexie.js and synced through their Cloud Service. The app is offline first and all changes are saved into indexeddb first.

In every task and projekt the user is able to edit a note that is a TipTap-editor powered by y.js.