I am confused about the conflict resolution algorithm

Hi,
I am a beginner in Y.js ! I am very interest to the implement of Y.js, I also have seen the paper that related. but I am still confused about the conflict resolution algorithm.

while (o !== null && o !== this.right) {
          itemsBeforeOrigin.add(o)
          conflictingItems.add(o)
          if (compareIDs(this.origin, o.origin)) {
            // case 1
            if (o.id.client < this.id.client) {
              left = o
              conflictingItems.clear()
            } else if (compareIDs(this.rightOrigin, o.rightOrigin)) {
              // this and o are conflicting and point to the same integration points. The id decides which item comes first.
              // Since this is to the left of o, we can break here
              break
            } // else, o might be integrated before an item that this conflicts with. If so, we will find it in the next iterations
          } else if (o.origin !== null && itemsBeforeOrigin.has(getItem(transaction.doc.store, o.origin))) { // use getItem instead of getItemCleanEnd because we don't want / need to split items.
            // case 2
            if (!conflictingItems.has(getItem(transaction.doc.store, o.origin))) {
              left = o
              conflictingItems.clear()
            }
          } else {
            break
          }
          o = o.right
        }

In the paper, YATA have defined a operation <c which is a strict total order function. If o <c this, it means that the operation o precedes operation this.
If the origins of o and this are the same, and if the clientId of o is smaller than the clientId of this, then this <c o.
But if the origin is the same and the rightOrigin is the same, but the clientId of o is not less than the clientId of this, it ends directly. At this time, I understand that there are two situations: