Memory handling in YJS

Hi,
I am trying to build my own collaborative white board. I have been using socket io up until now but now I am looking for alternatives like YJS. I am new to web applications development as well so I want some advice regarding memory management in my system.

The whiteboard application that I have built allows users to join “meeting” rooms and do some collaborative drawings on the whiteboard. However, I have been using arrays for storing my drawing data in the form of each drawing path - start point, end point, color and linewidth. This drawing data is used to load the existing drawing on a new user that has joined a room, along with giving my appllication undo and redo functionalit. This form of storage is very very ineffecient as each room will have its own arrays. When I get this website hosted, I am expecting atleast 100 rooms open in one instance and storing all the drawing data in arrays will crash my site and expose it to data leakage. The size of my array can be in 100,000s’ elements in a matter of minutes. I have explored into many alternatives like using DBs and session storage but I still feel this is very ineffecient as storing this much data in a DB will also be expensive plus will make data manipulation very difficult.
In essence, my system poses scalibility issues due to poor data management.
Does YJS framework give me any advantage or solution to this problem?

I don’t see why your “site” should crash…

• presumably every web client is joining a single room only
  • your “site” is mainly serving the code and distributing messages, the actual execution is done by every client’s browser
  • of course, freehand lines will have dozens, perhaps hundreds of nodes - so what?
  • if there is real need, you may still limit the number of nodes per line and/or the number of lines in your drawing