Merging documents

Hello, I’m new to yjs and I must be missing some fundamentals. I hope to describe the problem with some code examples.

I have written a document to disk using the following code:

import * as y from 'yjs'
import fs from 'node:fs'

const doc = new y.Doc()
doc.getMap('a').set('b', new y.Map(Object.entries({ 'c': 1 })))
const data = y.encodeStateAsUpdate(doc)

console.log('Storing', doc.getMap('a').toJSON())

fs.writeFileSync('./doc', data)

The output is: “Storing { b: { c: 1 } }”

Now I retrieve the document and apply it as updates in two ways:

import * as y from 'yjs'
import fs from 'node:fs'

const data = fs.readFileSync('./doc')

const doc1 = new y.Doc()
y.applyUpdate(doc1, data)
console.log('Read 1', doc1.getMap('a').toJSON())

const doc2 = new y.Doc()
doc2.getMap('a').set('b', new y.Map(Object.entries({ 'd': 2 })))
y.applyUpdate(doc2, data)
console.log('Read 2', doc2.getMap('a').toJSON())

This is the output:

Read 1 { b: { c: 1 } }
Read 2 { b: { d: 2 } }

I would expect Read 2 to have both c and d, but it only has d. I suspect this is to be expected and my assumption of the outcome is wrong.

Where does my thinking go wrong? What fundamental piece of the puzzle am I missing?

Hi, welcome.

The reason that you are not seeing doc1 data on doc2 is that you cannot apply updates from one Doc to another. They are incompatible.

More specifically, you cannot apply updates to disparate histories. For example, if you have a doc1 with changes A1 → A2 → A3 and doc2 with changes D1 → D2 → D3, you can apply doc1’s state to a doc with A1, A1 → A2, A1 → A2 → A3 (no change), A1 → A2 → A3 → A4 (no change), etc. But you cannot apply any A updates to Docs with D updates. In other words, updates can be applied to move forward or backward in a single line of history, but cannot be used to mix and match from different histories. Different Docs have different clientIds and clocks (the values used by the CRDT to track causality) so they won’t match up.